September 11th


It’s still dark outside, but the wildlife outside the windows of this little compound is already coming alive. The sounds of birds welcoming the day is what woke me this morning, far before my alarm would. I went out to look around and a hedgehog went scurrying past my foot barely recognizable in the shadowy darkness. It’s September 11th and this space in time has caused me to reflect.

It’s been a long 10 years, a life changing 10 years. The way we travel, the way we think, the vernacular we use (who doesn’t know what code yellow means now?) and even who we are at the core of ourselves has been changed. Changed not just by September 11th but all that came afterwards… For me, at least one thing has remained constant. I have always thought and will always think that key to unlocking such hennous acts as those that occured on September 11th is aid. Delivering aid to the most impoverished people on this planet, regardless of their nationality, politics, location, gender, religion, or any factor other than need, has always been in my opinion the clearest way to bring about peace.

So, instead of remember where I was, who I was with, and what I was doing (which of course I remember clearly) I want to comment on where I am. I am now an aidworker doing exactly what I always thought was most important. Some people out there got different callings from September 11th… but for me, being there for others, ensuring access to education, healthcare, and a way to make a decent living is the goal of my life. Now, 10 years later, I am living it out. It’s not what I thought it was going to be in some ways and in others it has far exceeded my expectations.

So, today on the 10th anniversary of September 11th I am going out to deliver aid, to extend a helping hand to women and children who need it, and with it I will dish out servings of hope, understanding, and one day maybe this will lead to peace. I hope…

About larasmartin

I'm 31 years old, originally from Florida. This blog is meant to be uplifting and part of a journey. Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 11th

  1. And your dear spirit and generous heart will help to make us less the “Ugly American” and more what we dream to be. Bless you, my cousin, for your gift to those less fortunate. I’m proud to be related to you.

Leave a Reply

