Sudanese Morning


So, today is the first Thursday of Ramadan (towards the end of the first week) and I am up before the sun. I do have problems sleeping but during this month, it is a bit strategic so I eat breakfast before sunrise and then fast (or attempt to fast) while I am at work. It’s a difficult experience but an interesting one. So, this morning as the sky is still pitch black I went out on my balcony to just sit and think. The lights from the American Embassy and the golf course twinkle in the distance. The stars are still shining bright, a cool breeze gently blows past me, and the morning call to prayer softly begins in the distance. A rooster even crows in a neighbor’s yard somewhere.

These are the times where I am able to appreciate where I am. I’m in a foreign place that has its own beauty, its own moments of still quiet peace. With all the difficulties that come with living in Sudan and with my work, one has to appreciate a time in one’s life that will never be repeated. This is an experience that is truly once in a lifetime. So, as I listen to the sweet and quiet morning prayer I say my own… thanking God for this time in my life and asking for the strength to continue my path with calm focus. These moments are rare for me here. So, this morning during Ramadan I am letting go of the worry that plagues my mind constantly. I am peaceful and I say my positive affirmation…

“I am perfect love and pure strength. All I am, all I want to be is right here in this moment. I am like the trees that sway with the wind and do not break.”

Namaste my friends, namaste.

About larasmartin

I'm 31 years old, originally from Florida. This blog is meant to be uplifting and part of a journey. Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in Sudan and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sudanese Morning

  1. Amanda says:

    beautifully written 🙂

Leave a Reply

