The Creeping Cloud


So, this is going to be something of a diary post. I might not feel this way even two days from now, but lately I’ve had this cloud sort of following me around. I’m tired and work is a little crazy, but even when I am home there is this sadness and tightness in my chest. Not like a heart attack tightness, but emotion… thick, stuck, negative emotions all sitting right on my heart. I’m doing my best to get out and meet people, particularly people from a similar background as myself, but there are two problems:

1. Certain nationalities here really keep to themselves. They don’t hang out with the international crew that I am a part of and being the only person from my background with my employer, well… my social circle is limited.

2. This is a really family oriented post. Most everyone I know is married with kids and they are based here. That changes how, frequency, and location of social interactions making it a little more difficult.

All that being said, I am really fighting this funk. I’m working out as much as I can (with my work load it ends up being only a couple of times a week.) I am going to some social events that are on a weekly basis and I hope to add more. I’m eating really healthy and using positive affirmations daily to try to be as positive as possible. I REALLY hope that this funk goes away very soon. Being lonely and sad makes you very tired, physically and emotionally. I can’t afford to be unfocused and lathargic.

Sometimes, I feel just like grumpy bear with a little rain cloud following me wherever I go, but I try to hide it the best I can.

About larasmartin

I'm 31 years old, originally from Florida. This blog is meant to be uplifting and part of a journey. Won't you join me?
This entry was posted in Complaining, Again, Crazy, Feeling Old, Sudan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment